Product innovation

Surface-Mount MOV Options from JingQin, JK-ET and STE

Adapted from Chongdiantou

Chongdiantou surveys surface-mount varistors from three suppliers, covering packages, reported voltage ranges and assembly considerations.

A Chongdiantou article published on August 1, 2025 surveys surface-mount metal-oxide varistors from JingQin, JK-ET and STE. The report focuses on compact power supplies and fast chargers, where component height and board area are constrained. All three suppliers' product families are retained in this adaptation; the article is a market survey rather than a qualification or interchangeability assessment.

A MOV is a nonlinear protective component. When voltage rises sufficiently, its resistance falls and surge current can flow through it, limiting the voltage under the specified conditions. The source presents surface-mount packaging as a way to reduce assembly space, shorten leads and support automated placement. Actual surge performance and lifetime remain dependent on the particular part and the applied waveform.

JingQin surface-mount MOVs

The report describes JingQin devices with a compact structure and packaging material meeting UL94 V-0. Tape-and-reel delivery allows placement and soldering alongside other surface-mount components. It lists both operating and storage temperature ranges as −40 to +125°C.

The article names three package variants: 3225, 4032 and 3225-M. Its narrative gives varistor-voltage ranges of 201–681 V for 3225 and 4032, and 180–621 V for 3225-M. These are transcribed as reported; the illustrated manufacturer table should be used to resolve coding conventions and exact individual values.

The applications cited include LED-circuit protection, industrial equipment, communications equipment and automotive electronics. The source names CQC, UL and TÜV approvals for related JingQin products. Approval applies to the listed parts and certification scope, rather than automatically to every package or possible use.

JK-ET surface-mount MOVs

JK-ET's offering is divided into SMD-7S/9S and the smaller SMD-7S/M families. The source emphasizes compact construction, surface-mount assembly, UL94 V-0 packaging, and reported resistance to high-temperature/high-humidity exposure and temperature cycling. It also reports RoHS and REACH compliance and CQC, UL and TÜV approvals.

The SMD-7S/9S family is described in 3225 and 4032 formats, both with reported varistor-voltage ranges of 201–681 V. The SMD-7S/M family uses 3225-M, with two reported ranges: 201–331 V and 361–621 V.

Applications listed by Chongdiantou include LED power supplies, industrial and communications equipment, automotive electronics, security circuits and household appliances. These application categories do not by themselves confirm automotive qualification or suitability for a particular safety-critical circuit.

STE SMD MOVs

The STE section describes the SMD-series MOV in 3225 and 4032 packages. The article gives body dimensions of 8.0 × 6.3 mm and 10.75 × 8.2 mm, respectively, and a reported varistor-voltage range of 200–820 V for both formats.

The source describes UL94 V-0 packaging, lead-free reflow and wave-soldering compatibility, compact PCB placement and intended use in surge suppression. It discusses high-temperature/high-humidity performance and identifies LED protection, industrial equipment, communications equipment, household appliances and power adapters as application areas. It also reports CQC, UL and TÜV approvals for related STE products.

The manufacturing statements explain why a surface-mount package can be relevant to an automated production line. They do not replace the reflow profile, pad pattern, thermal limits or electrical ratings in a current specification.

Reading the comparison

The original contains a cross-supplier comparison graphic and separate product, specification and approval graphics for each supplier. These materials accompany the source record in their original order. The article's compact package labels and voltage ranges are useful starting points for finding a product family, but matching dimensions does not establish an equivalent MOV.

A design comparison also requires maximum continuous voltage, varistor-voltage test conditions, clamping voltage, surge-current waveform and pulse count, energy rating, derating and failure-mode protection. The article's conclusion links the three suppliers' offerings to smaller power-supply designs; it does not provide a common test procedure showing one supplier outperforming another.

Figures and tables from the original report

The following figures retain their original captions, markings and historical context. Transcribed tables present the values shown in the published images; product selection should use the specifications for the selected part.

SMD MOV source roundup (July 2025) — source figure 1
Figure 1. SMD MOV source roundup (July 2025). Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
SMD MOV source roundup (July 2025)
BrandPackageVaristor voltageHigh humidity/temperature resistance (source claim)Lightning resistance (source claim)TemperatureSafety approvals listed by the source“Automotive certification” as labeled in source
JingQin3225201–681 VYes/-40°C~125°CCQC, UL, TUVIATF 16949
JingQin4032201–681 VYes/-40°C~125°CCQC, UL, TUVIATF 16949
JingQin3225-M180–621 VYes/-40°C~125°CCQC, UL, TUVIATF 16949
JK-ET (Jiankun)3225201–681 VYes//CQC, UL, TUV/
JK-ET (Jiankun)4032201–681 VYes//CQC, UL, TUV/
JK-ET (Jiankun)3225-M201–331 V / 361–621 VYes//CQC, UL, TUV/
STE (Songtian)3225200~820 VYesYes-40°C~125°CCQC, UL, TUVIATF 16949
STE (Songtian)4032200~820 VYesYes-40°C~125°CCQC, UL, TUVIATF 16949

Brands are ordered alphabetically in the source. Approval columns reproduce historical reporting, not verified current certificate scope. IATF 16949 is a quality-management-system standard, not automotive qualification of a component. Confirm CQC/UL/TUV coverage by specific model and certificate. Voltage strings are retained without silently converting possible codes to ratings.

Illustration from the original report — source figure 2
Figure 2. Illustration from the original report. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
JingQin MOV part-name fields — source figure 3
Figure 3. JingQin MOV part-name fields. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
JingQin MOV part-name fields
FieldMeaning
BrandJQ / JING QIN
Approximate body dimensions3225≈8.2×6.3 mm; 4032≈11.0×8.2 mm
Varistor-voltage toleranceK: ±10%
Varistor voltage V1mA471: 47×10¹=470 V
15-inch reel packing3225: 1820 pcs/reel; 4032: 1500 pcs/reel
JingQin MOV general technical data
ParameterValueUnit
Operating temperature-40 to +125°C
Storage temperature-40 to +125°C
Withstand voltage≥2.5kVRMS
Insulation resistance≥100MΩ

The image does not state the test conditions for withstand voltage or insulation resistance. The withstand value is not a continuous operating-voltage rating.

JingQin MOV structure and dimensions
Size codeVaristor-voltage range V1mA (V)L (mm)W (mm)H (mm)
3225201–6818.2±0.36.3±0.34.3±0.3
4032201–68111.0±0.38.2±0.34.8±0.3
3225-M180–6217.0±0.35.6±0.32.4±0.3

The drawing also labels terminal length 1.5±0.3 mm and terminal width 3.0±0.3 mm. Voltage-range numbers follow the source table.

Illustration from the original report — source figure 4
Figure 4. Illustration from the original report. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
Illustration from the original report — source figure 5
Figure 5. Illustration from the original report. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
Jiankun SMD-7S/9S dimensions — source figure 6
Figure 6. Jiankun SMD-7S/9S dimensions. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
Jiankun SMD-7S/9S dimensions
PackageVaristor-voltage range V1mA (V)Surge-current capability as printed (A)L (mm)W (mm)H (mm)
7S (3225)201–6811200 / 17508.2±0.36.3±0.34.2±0.5
9S (4032)201–6812500 / 350011.0±0.38.2±0.14.8±0.3

The table does not specify pulse count or waveform for the paired current values. The drawing also gives terminal length 1.5±0.3 mm and width 3±0.1 mm.

Jiankun SMD-7S/M miniature series dimensions
PackageVaristor-voltage range V1mA (V)Surge-current capability as printed (A)L (mm)W (mm)T (mm)
7S (M)201–33112007.0±0.35.6±0.32.4±0.5
7S (M)361–6214007.0±0.35.6±0.32.4±0.5

The source does not specify surge waveform or pulse count. The drawing also gives terminal length 1.5±0.3 mm and width 3±0.1 mm.

Illustration from the original report — source figure 7
Figure 7. Illustration from the original report. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
Illustration from the original report — source figure 8
Figure 8. Illustration from the original report. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
STE SMD-MOV general parameters — source figure 9
Figure 9. STE SMD-MOV general parameters. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
STE SMD-MOV general parameters
Package32254032
Voltage range (source codes)201K–821K201K–821K
Maximum peak current (8/20 μs)1750 A, 1 pulse3500 A, 1 pulse
Maximum energy (10/1000 μs)17–60 J35–100 J
Operating temperature-40 to +125°C-40 to +125°C
Storage temperature-40 to +125°C-40 to +125°C

Historical image, page 20; no revision date is shown. Its energy ranges of 17–60/35–100 J differ from 17–73/35–110 J in the 2024-11-14 image quoted by the 2025-04-29 report. The values are retained separately.

Illustration from the original report — source figure 10
Figure 10. Illustration from the original report. Image: Chongdiantou. Image source
Sales & technical support

Questions about a product or application?

Send us the application, target specifications and project timing, and STE will get back to you.

Contact STE